Home |  Log In    
Powered by Zen Cart :: The Art of E-Commerce

Alex Chilton - From Memphis to New Orleans lp (Bar/None)


These recordings from Alex Chilton (Big Star) have been out of print for over a decade. Hugely influence to and lauded by the likes of Wilco, REM, The Replacements among many others....these are the best of his recordings from the 1980's. Some know him as the lead singer of the Boxtops who had a number one hit in 1967 with The Letter, others know him from the majestic Beatlesque pop of Big Star or as the name in a song by the Replacements ("Children by the millions sing of Alex Chilton...”) Others know him as the songwriter of the theme song for That 70s Show. He was at the height of his cult star fame in the mid 1980s when he made these recordings. It is some of his best most honest work oddly neglected for some time but delivered here for enthusiasts and neophites alike.

In the early 1980s Chilton escaped his hometown and settled in New Orleans to recuperate from years of hard living. There he soaked up the music around him and developed a stripped down musical style and a sardonic persona. Instead of playing his greatest hits he played songs that spoke to him personally; lost obscure soul and blues tunes, jazz standards and rockabilly.

After younger musicians like REM and the Replacements began singing his praises to a new generation he put together a pair of touring outfits, one in the ’80s made up of bassist Rene Coman and drummer Doug Garrison and another group in the ’90s with childhood friend Ron Easley on bass and New York session drummer Richard Dworkin.  He also collaborated with Ben Vaughn and Alan Vega on an album of improvised songs called “Cubist Blues”.

In the last decade of his life he finally found some economic comfort when the Big Star song “In the Street” was used as the theme song for the hit television program “That 70s Show.” He also began doing select dates with both Big Star and the Box Tops while sitting in on bass with local New Orleans musicians often using an assumed name.


A1 B-A-B-Y

A2 Thank You John

A3 Lost My Job

A4 Paradise

A5 Underclass

A6 Let Me Get Close To You

A7 Thing For You

B1 No Sex

B2 Guantanamerika

B3 Make A Little Love

B4 Nobody's Fool

B5 Little GTO

B6 Lonely Weekend

Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Saturday 09 February, 2019.

 | Home | 
Parse Time: 0.086 - Number of Queries: 269 - Query Time: 0.045208398376465