Home |  Log In    
Powered by Zen Cart :: The Art of E-Commerce

Buttons Starter Kit dbl lp (Numero Group)


"A reimagined version of the legendary Yellow Pills compilation on Numero
– 20 songs from the original compilation, plus two bonus tracks, new
liner notes, and lots of cool sleeve scans, photos, and more! Forget
everything you know about rock music in the late 70s – all the punk rock
and new wave that's been immortalized over the years – and get ready to
discover a whole new world of power pop! At the time, the power pop
underground was as important to some ears as the artier and angrier work
coming out of the east coast and UK – and the power pop world was one
that could co-exist a bit more peacefully with mainstream rock, while
still offering a great opportunity for bands on various local scenes.
The work here has echoes of more famous acts of the time – like The
Cars, The Kings, or The Knack – but it's also got a bit more of a
home-grown, punk rock edge – one that comes through beautifully in the
guitar parts, vocals, and unabashed hooks of the tunes. The set's a
follow-up to the original Yellow Pills set by zine publisher Jordan
Oakes – and it delves deeper than even that one, with a real focus on
work from the end of the 70s, and acts that never had great chart
success overall. Titles include "High School" by Tommy Rock, "She's Hi
Fi" by The Trend, "There Goes My Heart Again" by The Kids, "Not My Girl
Anymore" by The Bats, "All I Want" by The Colors, "Domestic/Imported" by
The Toms, "Sunshine USA" by Randy Winburn, "One In A Million" by
Luxury, "She's The Girl" by The Tweeds, "Rave It Up" by Colors, and "Hey
Little Girl" by The Kids."

Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Monday 06 August, 2012.

 | Home | 
Parse Time: 0.051 - Number of Queries: 281 - Query Time: 0.026115809646607