Home |  Log In    
Powered by Zen Cart :: The Art of E-Commerce

Sorrow Come Pass Me Around lp (Dust To Digital)


"A collection of spiritual and gospel songs performed in informal non-church settings between 1965 and 1973. Most are guitar-accompanied and performed by active or former blues artists. "Most records of black religious music contain some form of gospel singing or congregational singing recorded at a church service. This album, though, tries to present a broader range of performance styles and contexts with the hope of showing the important role that religious music plays in the Southern black communities and in the daily lives of individuals." --David Evans, from the liner notes. LP, 16-page 11"x11" booklet, tip-on sleeve, 16 photographs. David Evans is an ethnomusicologist and director of the Ethnomusicology/Regional Studies program at the Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music in the University of Memphis, where he's worked since 1978.

Track Listing:
A1. Ephram Carter and His Fife & Drum Band - Sorrow Come Pass Me Around
A2. Willard Artis Blind Pete Burrell - Do Remember Me
A3. Babe Stovall - The Ship Is At the Landing
A4. Annie Lee and Oscar Crawford with Annie Mae Jones - You Don't Know What the Lord Has Done for Me
A5. Reverend Rubin Lacy - Talk About a Child That Do Love Jesus
A6. Robert Nighthawk Johnson - Can't No Grave Hold My Body Down
A7. Dorothy Lee, Norma Jean and Shirley Marie Johnson with Robert Nighthawk Johnson - You Got to Give an Account
A8. Katie Mae Young - By the Grace of My Lord, I've Come a Long Way
A9. Eddie Lee Mustright Jones - My Sun Don't Never Go Down
B1. Robert Nighthawk Johnson - Climbing High Mountains
B2. Chester Davis and Congregation / Compton Jones and Group / Furry Lewis - Glory, Glory Hallelujah
B3. Willard Artis "Blind Pete" Burrell - A Little Talk with Jesus Makes it Right
B4. Pattie Rosemon with Frank and Odie Rosemon - I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say
B5. Babe Stovall - When the Circle Be Unbroken
B6. Napoleon Strickland - Motherless Children
B7. Willard Artis "Blind Pete" Burrell - I Shall Not Be Moved"


Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Monday 08 April, 2013.

 | Home | 
Parse Time: 0.047 - Number of Queries: 261 - Query Time: 0.022911940795899