Home |  Log In    
Powered by Zen Cart :: The Art of E-Commerce

Voices of Mississippi lp (Dust To Digital)


Voices of Mississippi encapsulates the life's work of William Ferris, an audio recordist, filmmaker, folklorist, and teacher with an unwavering commitment to establish and to expand the study of the American South. Throughout the 1960s and 1970s, Ferris toured his home state of Mississippi, documenting the voices of African Americans as they spoke about and performed the diverse musical traditions that form the roots of the blues. This LP features blues and gospel field recordings made by Ferris between 1966 and 1974; all tracks are available on vinyl for the very first time. In addition to being a groundbreaking documentarian of the American South, Ferris is Joel R. Williamson Eminent Professor of History and senior associate director of the Center for the Study of the American South at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. A former chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities, Ferris co-edited the Encyclopedia of Southern Culture(1989) and is the author of multiple books. Printed inner sleeve.

Track Listing:
A1. Scott Dunbar - Lil' Liza Jane 
A2. Mississippi Fred Mcdowell - Big Fat Mama 
A3. Louis Dotson - Bottle Blowing 
A4. Scott Dunbar - Jaybird 
A5. James "Son" Ford - Thomas Cairo 
A6. Inmates At Parchman Farm - Water Boy Drowned In The Mobile Bay 
B1. Mississippi Fred Mcdowell - I Got A Letter From Hot Springs 
B2. Lovey Williams - I'm Standing In The Safety Zone 
B3. Mary Alice And Alan Mcgowan - My Mother's On That Train 
B4. Reverend Ott And Family - You Don't Knock, You Just Walk On In 
B5. Walter Lee Hood - They Tell Me Of An Uncloudy Day 
B6. Mary And Amanda Gordon - Lord, I'm In Your Hand 
B7. James "Son" Ford - Thomas Cemetery Conversations


Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Saturday 24 November, 2018.

 | Home | 
Parse Time: 0.061 - Number of Queries: 273 - Query Time: 0.03475521270752