Home |  Log In    
Powered by Zen Cart :: The Art of E-Commerce

John Lee Hooker - Alone Volume 1 lp (Fat Possum)


 LP was originally recorded live at New York’s Hunter College in 1976.

“Because he’s so loose and improvisatory — and because he loves to twist the 12-bar format into so many different shapes and sizes — John Lee Hooker can present a major challenge to sidemen. More than a few times, Hooker has done without sidemen altogether and gone it alone with thrilling results. That’s exactly what happens on Alone, an outstanding two-CD set containing live performances at New York’s Hunter College from 1976. Not having to concern himself with the needs of a drummer or a bassist, the singer/guitarist is especially introspective and doesn’t hesitate to let loose and improvise on such familiar tunes as “Boogie Chillen,” “Boom Boom” and “One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer.” Hooker enjoys improvisation as much as a jazz musician, and on these magnificent recordings, he is at his most uninhibited and takes one liberty after another.” – Alex Henderson (All Music)


A1 I Miss You So 2:48
A2 Jesse James 4:31
A3 Dark Room 4:53
A4 I'll Never Get Out Of These Blues Alive 7:27
B1 Boogie Chillum 4:22
B2 When My First Wife Left Me 5:40
B3 Boom Boom 4:21
B4 One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer 5:02

Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Friday 10 June, 2016.

Customers who bought this product also purchased...

 | Home | 
Parse Time: 0.047 - Number of Queries: 265 - Query Time: 0.022620787246704