Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / Food & Drink / good eats in NYC?
Posted: Jan 9, 2008 11:25 pm

Will be in NYC 3/3-3/7 for work. Staying near Washington Square Park. Work is near Union Square, on 5th Ave between 15 & 16th st. Grew up in NJ so I'm not a total novice, but I've been away for over 15 years. Probably gonna hit Gray's Papaya as it's right near the hotel. Might take some coworkers to White Castle, but I can get that while visit the folks over the weekend, so playing that by ear. I know Shopsins moved is it very far? do they still do the bacon brittle?
Posted: Jan 9, 2008 11:39 pm

Criff Dogs is a must and not to far from the square. St. Marks (8th street) and Ave. A. You want the spicy redneck. A bacon wrapped deep fried hot dawg with chili, jalapenos, cheese etc....

Two boots pizza is also pretty great. Ave. A and 3rd street.
I like the Night Tripper slice. 2 kinds o cheese (i think) , carmelized garlic and jalapeno pesto sauce. Pretty awesome.

West Village is awfully crowded these days, so I don't venture too far over there , but the Cowgirl Hall of Fame is pretty fantastic. 10th street and Hudson.
I recomend the frito pie and multiple awesome frozen margaritas served out of a soft serve machine.

For Italian, ya can't beat Bona Fida's at 2nd Ave. and 4th street. They only serve dinner, no lunch.
Posted: Jan 10, 2008 7:16 pm

Is there still a Nathan's in Times Square?
Posted: Jan 11, 2008 4:43 am

I like Dumpling Man right across the way from Criff Dogs. Kate's Joint is a favorite, but seems to get lamer everytime I go. New favorite from the last couple of trips is Temple Korean at St. Mark's and First, better ambiance than most of the popular joints in NYC's K-town. I also REALLY dig Gobo for insanely good food. They have one location in the Upper East Side, and one in the West Village.