Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / ???? / MMR recap
Posted: Apr 7, 2011 5:27 pm | Edited by: Cole

I have a subscription to this magazine. I like it, but don't read most of it. It's mostly bands I'm not interested in. As a public service I'm going to recap the stuff in the April issue that I think people on this board might be interested in. I know this is weird but I'm stuck in the office all day and have about two hours to kill.

In the letters section, there's a guy from some anonymous band that played the Scion garage fest bitching because a writer wrote a list of all the bands that played and basically called them sell outs for taking corporate cash. They go back and forth in a couple of letters actually and it's pretty entertaining. Since I work for Pepsi and all my money is huge corporation money, it's easy to guess who's side I'm on. The only DIY thing I do is shoot and clean and cook a deer sometimes.

There's a write up on Timmy's Organism. It's good. I feel like an ass for not checking into any of Timmy Vulger's bands yet. I'm on it.

Reviews.

There's a book review on the Husker Du book by Andrew Earles. The Reviewer, Robert Collins, doesn't like it. It's a good review though and I think it's fair. I've read the book and I liked it.

They review the Cheveu "1000" record. Brace Belden is not a fan. "What if the Country Teasers sounded like shit" is one of his quotes. I don't know them but plan on checking them out.

Helen Degenerate likes the Circle Pit "Sewercide" seven inch. She kind of talks about how much more badass the A side is than the B side, but that's how it should be. I have this and I agree.

Helen is not a Nobunny fan however. She hates "Raw Romance" "This is the most boring 12" I've listened to in a long time" Ouch. I like Nobunny alot. I don't have this but I want it.