Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / ???? / roku/netflix
Posted: Oct 28, 2010 11:32 am

fuck comcast and at&t universe. anyone use the roku box with netflix?
Posted: Oct 28, 2010 11:45 am

i'm no techie but i stream netflix for free through my son's wii and his HDTV
Posted: Oct 28, 2010 11:53 am

no game console. no hdtv.
Posted: Oct 28, 2010 12:51 pm

never used the roku, but i've got my laptop hooked up to my tv and i stream shit all the time. been watching a bunch of old horror stuff lately.
Posted: Oct 28, 2010 1:26 pm | Edited by: benwah

roku...or just buy this
Posted: Oct 28, 2010 2:09 pm

I looked at the Roku last year when I cut my cable package. It has a lot of nice features but felt a little "bare bones" for me. I opted instead to get a Blue-Ray player that had Netflix and local media streaming, since I needed a DVD player too at the time.
If I was to buy today, I think I would skip the Roku and go for the Logitech Revue. It's about $200 more than the Roku, but it has the processing power of a small laptop and runs GoogleTV (Android) so it will be upgradable in the future when people start making apps for it for the content providers (Hulu & the major networks) that are currently blocking GoogleTV. Plus it should be able to play just about any video file you download from the web.
Posted: Oct 28, 2010 2:09 pm

Roku kicks ass.

It doesn't do anything that a PS3 or Wii can't do, but at $60 bucks for THOUSANDS of instant netflix movies (w/Netflix subscription), it's a steal.

We're about to buy a second one for another room.
Posted: Jan 12, 2011 12:50 pm

just hooked up my xmas present Roku the other day...pretty impressive.