Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / ???? / LP vs 45's
Posted: Apr 26, 2010 12:03 am

I've mentioned this before, but I'm new to the vinyl scene. I've been buying vinyl exclusivly for the last six months and love it.

I've always been an album guy. I was never one of those guys who would buy just one song from itunes. I think everything matters including the order of the songs on the album. When it's done right....It's awesome.

That being said, I gotta say that I'm surprised that I listen alot more to my 7" than my lps.

Take for example the new ECSR album "Ruch To Relax" and the new Missing Monuments 7". I've probably listened to the ECSR album about 10 times all the way through. I've bet I've listened to the Missing Monuments 7" about 50 times, both sides. I love them both and I have a theory.

I think that I just get more involved in the 7"s. If I'm playing an LP, I'll usually end up doing something else while listening to it. I'll play video games, read a book, whatever. If I'm listening to a 7" it takes more commitment. I'll usually sit there and listen and enjoy, and then flip it over and listen to the other side. I invest more into the songs.

I was just wondering what other people preferred.
Posted: Apr 26, 2010 12:21 am

12" 45s all the way baybee.
Posted: Apr 26, 2010 1:51 am

45 speed - better sound. 7"s sound better than LPs, that is a fact. SSSSSSS is correct though, 12" 45 is the ultimate format. put on replacements stink for example. way louder and clearer than any of their LPs.
Posted: Apr 26, 2010 5:50 am

Tested this theory with Overnight Lows, and your both right. I had no idea.
Posted: Apr 26, 2010 8:30 am

12" 45 is the ultimate format

the third black gladiator release is gonna be like this. it's only 14 minutes long. i had no choice.
Posted: Apr 26, 2010 10:09 am

If you want attention from distros it's got to be long players....that's why 45's rock so hard.