Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / ???? / Anybody on here teach Jr High- High School?
Posted: Mar 13, 2010 11:02 am

I'm in my last semester of classes at the University and just turned in my application for an internship/student teaching. Anybody on here done this before?
Posted: Mar 13, 2010 12:26 pm | Edited by: Beer Joint

both my parents taught middle school and high school..that age sucks..you're going to hate it.

On the other hand, when my college roommate graduated college he taught middle school for a year....and then 2 years later was sleeping with some of his former students...I guess it's whatever works for you.

Sounds like purgatory to me.
Posted: Mar 13, 2010 12:29 pm

Then again my Dad still loves it cuz he teaches ROTC and he doesn't have to put up with half the bullshit of normal teachers....if they talk back they're insubordinate, skip class AWAL...don't respect the chain of command, push ups are in order.

If you can pull it off, it can be a good thing....being a sub fucking sucks however.
Posted: Mar 13, 2010 1:19 pm

jesse, teach ROTC! make them bring you cokes and say "sir, yes sir!"
Posted: Mar 13, 2010 1:32 pm

I run a kids music school with students aged 7-18. The bulk are jr high aged.
Posted: Mar 13, 2010 2:35 pm | Edited by: jahna

both my parents taught middle school and high school..that age sucks..you're going to hate it.

Nah. Although I don't teach, I work in a school that has both middle & high school students. As with any group of people, some of the kids are really great, most are ok and a few just god-fucking-awful. Same goes for the parents. Same goes for the teachers, as well. (Actually, I wouldn't say any of the teachers are crappy this year. They're all ok and a few stand out as awesome.)

As for the process you have to go through to get to be a teacher... I'm not qualified to comment. (My job is fundraising/PR/marketing/communications for the school.)