Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / ???? / recording yourself one track at a time
Posted: Jan 30, 2007 10:21 pm

so when you are recording and playing all the parts yourself on a song, what order do you record in?

do you start with drums and then go to guitar? what's your process like?

so far the only part of the process i have down is a multitude of tall cans of busch and tons of reefer...

any tips or tricks?
Posted: Jan 30, 2007 10:25 pm

i always use a scratch track (if im gonna lay real drums down) first... while recording guitar, then add bass and drums afterwards.. i dont know ask jay the reatard.
Posted: Jan 30, 2007 10:42 pm

Use a noise maker as a click track. Add guitar, then bass, then kazoo.
Posted: Jan 30, 2007 10:42 pm

yeah ok, jay or brad, how do you guys put songs together like that?

i'm still new at recording, so all this shit has been trial, with mostly error.
Posted: Jan 30, 2007 10:43 pm

duh!
Posted: Jan 30, 2007 10:44 pm

When the big boys in real studios start a recording session, if they all are in the same room with the drummer and his kit is mic'd and ready...The bass is usually ran direct or the bass amp will be in an Isolation Booth as well as the guitar in an Iso booth as well. The vocalist may be in the same room and or in a separate Iso booth with a window for signaling between his bandmates. Everyone has head phones and there is little or no Bleed Over. Generally the Drums are the most important in the first takes...After the drums are solid knowing that the rest of the band i.e. Bass and vox and Guitar will do several more takes they scratch the existing tracks and start with the Solid Drum Takes and go from there with the overdubbing.