Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / ???? / Goner Jobs - must they always suck?
Posted: Jul 31, 2006 5:02 pm

The "straight jobs" thread got me thinking...my boss is out of the office today and I can post to my heart's content...

I've been at this new job for over a month. After the initial euphoria of getting out of my previous flunky job wore off, I decided that this one, while better in many areas, is still a flunky job and I can't see myself doing it for more than a year or two. At least I'm making more so I can save up some dough.

Anyway, I've always had a job while I've been making this loser rock n' roll noise since I never had any delusions about making any money from it. It cuts into your ability to tour, but the benefits are that it wards off starvation and I get to have my own place with no roommate. So far I've been a delivery truck driver, worked in a warehouse, roofed houses office temp, record store geek, pizza joint, etc. etc.

-I know Bloodshot Bill tours all the time, I asked him about it last time he was in town. He tours nine months outta the year (!) but then he also lives with his parents. Not an option I'm willing to explore.

-Mick Collins was still living with his folks too, last I heard. And he's a "success" as far as the rock n' roll goes.

Spencer P. Jones was in a band that had a major label deal, toured all over, and had the kind of musical career that most people would envy. When I saw him last year he had just gotten back from a European tour - and was back to his day job working the counter at an art supply store.

-April Novack was telling me when last in town how she wants to go back to grad school or sumthin'. In the meantime she's touring a lot, and living with her parents.