Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / Memphis / Overton Square
Posted: Sep 9, 2009 11:09 am

Alright - I know there's already been some discussion on the Chick-Fil-A thread... but let's give this it's own life.

Overton Square - here's my understanding of the situation. You have an investor that is interested in bringing their high-end grocery store chain to the area. Heritage group is trying to block it - saying they need to leave the facade alone and build around it. This adds $3.5 million to the cost of the project - and will undoubtedly leave another janky looking old wall just hanging out serving no purpose (ala church/chick-fil-a / Andertons...)

Why does this make any sense? If we have a need - and someone wants to fulfill that need - why do we want to stand in the way?

I am no expert - but it seems to me that with good planning we can have new development that fits with the look of the rest of the neighborhood. Part of this seems like it needs to come from City Planners and neighborhood development groups working with the investment group. But by bringing in retail we desperately need, and utilizing smart architecture and green space - the entire community benefits. Right?
Posted: Sep 9, 2009 11:45 am

I fully agree Zac. It reminds me of the neighborhood group that blocked walgreens from the corner location at North Parkway/East Parkway. A walgreens would certainly look better than the fenced up, over grown lot with and abandoned apartment building. Its been stagnant for several years now.
Posted: Sep 9, 2009 11:46 am