Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / Memphis / Looking for a job
Posted: Feb 23, 2008 1:34 am

While I'm at it. I'm looking to move to Memphis between now and the next decade but I'd kinda like to have a job so I can eat, pay rent, so forth and so on. I've been working at a data center here in dyersburg for like four years so I know computers and everything but all the job boards are looking for supervisors and managers and I don't think I'm up for that. Sooo if anyone who works in an office, knows someone who works in an office, knows someone whos knows someone who works in an office and knows of something or knows of someplace I can look. it would be greatly appreciated!
Posted: Feb 23, 2008 1:41 am

No offense, but in a data center doing what? Running back-up jobs, ftp-ing shit, running end of day scripts, or sweeping the floor?
What's your skillz? I don't know of any jobs off-hand, but I could keep an eye open.

Don't post your resume, or anything, but what kind of work do you do?
Posted: Feb 23, 2008 1:48 am

Running back-up jobs, ftp-ing shit, running end of day scripts, basically. I work for a bank so I do the batch processing, back up the system, send and recieve files and fix whatever basic technical problems we might have. I know networking pretty well, we moved to a new facility like two years ago and I helped set it up and it's a pretty massive network.
Posted: Feb 23, 2008 1:49 am

Don't post your resume, or anything, but what kind of work do you do?

Wouldn't the answer to "...what kind of work do you do?" fall under the "...or anything..." you told dude not to post?
Posted: Feb 23, 2008 1:57 am

Well, the tech job market here is kind of tight, but it seems like there's some turn-over every few months. Couple of banks, too. Networking helps.
Really, those skills you can apply to a lot of things, just depends on what you're looking for. I can help to look around.