Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / Memphis / Memphis Job Hunting
Posted: Feb 19, 2008 8:19 am

I am beginning my onslaught of Memphis social service, medical and mental health agencies and am looking for some good ideas and/or contacts.

I worked in Memphis years ago as a social worker at Youth Villages but they don't pay jack and I am far too qualified to take a position there again that isn't supervisory and they promote within for the most part for those jobs.

I have experience in child welfare, family/individual therapy, medical social work, mediation & conflict resolution, program development and supervision among other areas. I am also a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) and will have both Tennessee and Arkansas licensure to practice clinical work.

email me at k dot irene dot young at gmail if you have any info you think might be helpful! Thanks already to LadyJ for her help!
Posted: Feb 19, 2008 10:28 am

My pleasure!!! Try researching advocacy centers. Don't bother with the TN Disability Coalition, though. You have too much experience and they make Youth Villages look downright generous paycheck-wise. I'll e-mail you when I come up with more ideas.

Hemant- Maybe you could help her? You seem to have tons of contacts in the area.
Posted: Feb 19, 2008 11:29 am

I will have to make some cold calls to the CAC and Exchange Club etc as they don't have a Careers link on their websites, natch!

I am also looking across the bridge; they are more desperate for LCSWs and may even be prepared to pay me more. I would travel if they pay me; I gotta get a decent job so I can BUY OUR HOUSE.
Posted: Feb 19, 2008 12:38 pm