Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / Memphis / i need a job in memphis
Posted: Jun 20, 2006 4:16 am

anybody work somewhere that's hiring? i'll be available after the first of the month. i have a college degree in apparel design and costuming, but for the last year and a half i've been working as a substitute teacher and a librarian (alot of data entry involved...i type fast). i've had alot of retail jobs, but i have no restaurant or bar experience.....although i'm willing to learn! any help appreciated!!
Posted: Jun 20, 2006 6:30 am

Try Dee! She's savin Libertyland! Oh..wait, sorry.
Posted: Jun 20, 2006 6:46 am

hey april...they're hiring for teachers and subs at memphis city. i bit the bullet, despite being a little freaked out about the entire situation. i just did my interview for that.

if you can type fast, where i work (mci/verizon) is ALWAYS hiring. it's not the most fun job in the world, but it's easy and they pay benefits after 90 days, and it's 10 an hour, with 50 cent shift diff. (so this would be an option if you couldn't find anything right away and wouldn't mind just having a job while you look around a bit more.)
Posted: Jun 20, 2006 10:59 pm

you could design special apparel for the sons of thunder. apparently they've been having problems keeping things together with their costumes.

http://windylou.typepad.com/photos/xxx/xxx.html
Posted: Jun 20, 2006 11:09 pm

Memphis City Schools are fucking morons...although i dont have certification, I worked for 10 FUCKING YEARS as an administrator in the athletic department and a permanent sub for AP Biology for the Fort Worth Independent School District. I have a BS in Education and a minor in Biology, but they told me "I didnt have enough experience or the minimum skills" to teach in the Memphis City Schools. They are constantly bitching about not having enough teachers, and that you dont have to have certification.