Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / Memphis / Wild Bill's-Hard Luck Cafe
Posted: May 27, 2006 10:09 pm

Anyone know whether they admit minors to hear the music? I know at least Wild Bill's serves food, so that might be an in.

Reason--I was born and raised in Memphis, spent most of my life in New Orleans where my 15 yr. old son was born. We now live in the upper Midwest--north Iowa, southern Minnesota--really white bread places, but my son plays self-taught blues piano, and I want to keep him with some sense of the greatness of southern culture.

We're planning a trip to Memphis in August, and I want to take him to some old joints that will knock his socks off--at least places that don't exist up here.

Thanks.
Posted: May 29, 2006 7:47 am

take him to the antenna club. buwahahhahahahahaha
Posted: May 30, 2006 7:34 pm

That's a gutbuster, pal.
Posted: May 31, 2006 9:02 pm

i would think wild bills will allow yer son in, especially if yer with him. while i have never seen anyone that young in there, i tend to think bill would look the other way.
Posted: Jul 23, 2007 7:35 pm

I've read elsewhere that Wild Bill has passed on. Can anyone verify?
Posted: Jul 23, 2007 8:14 pm

I've read elsewhere that Wild Bill has passed on.

Oh no!!! Hopefully that's not true.
Posted: Jul 23, 2007 8:15 pm | Edited by: JPK

Also, I think the Hard Luck Cafe has changed hands. It's now called "It's a Memphis Thang" or something like that. Don't know what the deal is.
Posted: Jul 23, 2007 11:19 pm

yeah, I hear he passed away also...

from a pretty good source.
Posted: Jul 24, 2007 6:32 am

Yup. Wild Bill R.I.P.
Posted: Jul 24, 2007 7:10 am

damn. RIP Wild Bill.
Posted: Jul 24, 2007 8:35 am

damn. RIP Wild Bill.

Shit. . . I'll be pouring a forty out while eating catfish soon.
Posted: Jul 24, 2007 9:40 am

Am sitting here with my Wild Bill's trucker cap on, wishing the old fella happy trails...
Posted: Jul 24, 2007 2:17 pm