Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / Memphis / Libertyland, a friendly debate...
Page  Page 1 of 3:  1  2  3  Next »
Posted: Jan 8, 2006 4:37 pm

I am certainly not anti-fun. As a kid, I went to Libertyland more than a few times. I do believe that the current effort in the community to save Libertyland is noble and and grass-roots organization works and should be done more often in this town.

However, I am not a proponent of keeping Libertyland where it is today, all or part of it. I would like to see some of those rides (including the Zippin Pippin) moved further east (Putt-Putt on Summer preferably).

Do they have to tear it down today? No.
I would like to see a conscise plan of what they will put in it's place before they remove a single rail from the Model-T car-rides.

What I would like to see is the whole area (sans the Liberty bowl and it's parking) developed into a state-of-the-art technology center for business. If you've noticed the crews working down Sam Cooper (not the DUI trash detail, the guys laying cable), Fiber Core bandwidth is moving into Midtown.
I would rather move a few thousand high paying tech jobs into the city and sacrifice the 700 teen jobs at Libertyland (some could be relocated to the new Putt-Putt facility).

The Mid-South Fair would certainly need to be considered and moved, but I don't think Libertyland is necessary for it's function (it survived for years before Libertyland opened).
Posted: Jan 8, 2006 4:56 pm

Very, very smart. Does Memphis have a lot of big business friendly tax breaks which would help facilitate this? Memphis needs to really continue to work hard on providing the kind of amenities the high-tech employees would expect if they were living here. Inexpensive housing would not be enough--more restaurants, shopping etc etc.

I had no idea there was a grassroots effort to save Libertyland.
Posted: Jan 8, 2006 5:05 pm